Skip to content

Judge not to Judge

April 21, 2011

We are required to make judgements of one kind or another much of the time, whether this is in our roles as Leaders, Managers, members of a team or even in our everyday lives. It is a vital  part of our decision-making process. It  enables us to weigh up the pros and cons and decide the best action to take to move onto the next step. It ensures  that choices are made at the right time to keep the organisation on the right path. So making judgements is a good thing to do, right? And yes it is, except when the process of making a judgement turns into being judgemental, judging ourselves or others.

Being judgemental can be  divisive organisational behaviour, that leads to poor management. It is a behaviour that can quickly become viral and can prevent forward movement and in some cases lead to failure.  Being judgemental is an act of judging others and assigning a label; such as ‘they are poor performers’ or ‘that organisation is rubbish’.  When we label in this way, we seek out and filter for instances that confirm our assumptions   and ignore or don’t even notice exceptions to the rule we have set. And by doing this we close down the possibilities of something different being true, because those who are on the receiving end of this kind of judgement start to believe it is true themselves – that they are just not good enough and never will be. It becomes a self fulfilling prophesy where morale drops and the corresponding behaviours become the norm; lack of care and lack of pride in the job to be done and eventually those who hold the possibility of raising performance exit the organisation leaving those who are left to flounder.  After all, when it comes down to it, it is all about reputation and it’s hard to change reputation isn’t it?

So how possible is it to change this?  The act of being judgemental is usually based on a feeling or an emotion (decision based judgements are based on fact), so what needs to happen is to change what is felt. Set realistic expectations and celebrate success when they are met. Notice and appreciate what works  and start to create a new story. It won’t be easy as human being seem to prefer the drama of failure, spending time gossping rather than taking responsibility. And slowly, bit by bit that new story will start to become true as people’s beliefs shift, behaviours change and a new era of possibility is ushered in….

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2014 9:34 am

    P.S. I took a quiz on the “Are You Judgemental” quiz on the Psychologies site and apparently I have “an irrational fear of criticism” and “It seems that you aren’t comfortable at all with passing judgement on others. Quite the opposite: you avoid criticising at all costs because when you yourself are reprimanded over something, you feel it as deeply as if it were an assault on your psyche”. It also said I have a fear of getting in trouble. I believe it’s true, I’ve heard it before. My quiz results stated I tend to not criticize people in my daily life. Are you shocked? See you don’t know me and people react to me differently in real life compared to online and the conversations are much different and don’t always voice my opinions and ideas the way I do online. The quiz probably isn’t scientific but either way, maybe you should take your own advice about not judging people. I DEFINITELY have preferences, likes and dislikes (including liking and disliking certain behaviors and attitudes). I DEFINITELY have ideas about what could improve the lives of BW. But having preferences, likes, dislikes, and ideas is NOT THE SAME as being judgemental!

  2. September 3, 2013 4:22 am

    Judgmental does not mean stating an opinion. Even saying that something is “bad” or “good” is not necessarily judgmental (some will argue that labeling something as “good” or “bad” is wrong. That’s another discussion but it is not necessarily judgmental). Not being judgemental does not mean to be opinion-less, spineless, non-skeptical, not being exquisite, being indifferent to whatever. If this was the case then no discussion or analysis of reality would be able.

  3. August 24, 2013 1:34 pm

    Hello! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for that the great data you
    have here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  4. August 21, 2013 1:55 am

    Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there
    that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Many thanks!

  5. May 30, 2013 1:59 am

    This website really has all of the info I needed
    concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  6. May 28, 2013 11:26 pm

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is just cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  7. May 26, 2013 4:31 am

    I blog quite often and I really thank you for your content.
    This article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your blog and keep checking
    for new details about once a week. I subscribed
    to your RSS feed as well.

  8. May 26, 2013 1:59 am

    Good site you have here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  9. May 25, 2013 10:17 am

    It is actually a nice and useful piece of
    info. I am satisfied that you shared this useful
    information with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

  10. May 24, 2013 11:27 am

    I enjoy, lead to I found just what I was looking for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  11. May 23, 2013 7:03 am

    Hello, I read your blogs on a regular basis.
    Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up!

  12. May 22, 2013 11:52 am

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe
    you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only
    having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out
    better?

  13. May 22, 2013 1:04 am

    Informative article, just what I wanted to find.

  14. May 21, 2013 8:54 pm

    Having read this I believed it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  15. May 10, 2013 5:29 am

    When providing feedback we talk about feedback that gives praise and recognition for a job well done which is balanced with honest feedback on mistakes, learning and failures. We hold a coachee accountable for personal commitments as well as to the coaching contract and to the values and strategy of the wider organisation. When doing this are we being judgemental? When representing the wider system while coaching, are we being judgemental?

  16. May 5, 2013 5:57 pm

    Amazing! Its truly amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea on the
    topic of from this piece of writing.

  17. February 28, 2013 4:40 am

    Wohh just what I was seeking for, regards for posting .

  18. September 13, 2012 11:01 am

    What’s really wrong with being judgmental? One problem with being judgmental of others is that we don’t really know everything about other people. When we judge others we often make our decisions based on just a few minutes of knowing them. How can we really know the true heart of another person after we have only chatted with them for a few minutes?

  19. April 21, 2011 10:28 am

    Good Post! and right on! especially the bit about judgments becoming self fulfilling prophecies, because of the tendency to look for confirming, rather than dis-confirming evidence. If everyone were in the habit of looking for dis-confirming evidence we would all be a lot more open to possibility.

    • April 21, 2011 6:01 pm

      Thank you for your comment and may be we could challenge the generalisation that was presented to us rather than accepting it as fact…. I realise that this is something I do do, particularly when a client has been referred to me by their organisation and is something I need to do more of, particularly in relation to my organisational development work…

Leave a Reply

